Look. Up in the air. It is Amelia Earhart.

Amelia Earhart opens tomorrow night. Getting to know Amelia is a media journey. Didn’t think much of her initially. Then Joni Mitchell sings Amelia, a 70’s haunting address to the pilot. But driving to work this morning listening to XM,  I got to know Amelia Earhart better. It set me right up for the day.  The broadcast is at the On Point radio site. The program mixes great newsreels, the biographer for the movie, WWII pilot Maggie Gee, interesting call-ins with Tom Ashbrook’s winning recap and high ground moderation of the discourse. Amelia kept her name when marrying, hearing Amelia’s matrimonial letter on the air was sensational.

You must know again my reluctancy to marry, my feeling that I shatter thereby chances in work which means so much to me.

In our life together I shall not hold you to any medieval code of faithfulness to me, nor shall I consider myself bound to you similarly.

I may have to keep some place where I can go to be myself now and then, for I cannot guarantee to endure at all times the confinements of even an attractive cage.

I must extract a cruel promise, and that is you will let me go in a year if we find no happiness together.

There are whole generations who still don’t believe that men and women both benefit if women are more adventurous, independent and well educated. Amelia’s purpose. I am hoping the best for Hilary Swank’s interpretation. Great Show Mr. Ashbrook.

PS: Saw the movie. The plane goes down.

Leave a Reply

